Wyoming Statutes Title 6. Crimes and Offenses § 6-3-201. Property destruction and defacement;  grading;  penalties;  aggregated costs or values

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) A person is guilty of property destruction and defacement if he knowingly defaces, injures or destroys property of another without the owner's consent.

(b) Property destruction and defacement is:

(i) A misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or both, if the cost of restoring injured property or the value of the property if destroyed is less than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00);

(ii) Repealed by Laws 1985, ch. 44, § 2.

(iii) A felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than ten (10) years, a fine of not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00), or both, if the cost of restoring injured property or the value of the property if destroyed is one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) or more.

(c) If a series of injuries results from a single continuing course of conduct, a single violation of this section may be charged and penalties imposed based upon the aggregate cost or value of the property injured or destroyed.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Wyoming Statutes Title 6. Crimes and Offenses § 6-3-201. Property destruction and defacement;  grading;  penalties;  aggregated costs or values - last updated December 01, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/wy/title-6-crimes-and-offenses/wy-st-sect-6-3-201/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard