Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, in any county whose population is 300,000 or more, the board of county commissioners shall impose a tax at the rate of 3 percent of the gross receipts from the rental of transient lodging in that county. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the tax must be imposed throughout the county, including its incorporated cities, upon all persons in the business of providing lodging. The ordinance imposing the tax must include a schedule for the payment of the tax and the provisions of subsection 4.
2. If the sum of the rates of all other taxes existing on July 31, 2008, and imposed by the State of Nevada or any unit of local government on the gross receipts from the rental of transient lodging in any area of the county exceeds 10 percent, the tax imposed pursuant to this section in that area must be imposed at a rate equal to the difference between 13 percent and the sum of the rates of the existing taxes. If the sum of the rates of the existing taxes in any area of the county is equal to or greater than 13 percent, no additional tax may be imposed in that area pursuant to this section. For the purposes of this section, the sum of the rates of any existing taxes must be determined as of July 31, 2008, and any increase in the rate of an existing tax after that date does not reduce the rate of the tax imposed pursuant to this section.
3. The tax imposed pursuant to this section must be collected with and in the same manner as any other tax imposed by the county on the gross receipts from the rental of transient lodging. The tax may be shown as an addition to the charge for the rental of transient lodging. The person providing the transient lodging is liable to the county for the tax whether or not it is actually collected from a paying guest.
4. If the tax imposed pursuant to this section is not paid within the time set forth in the schedule for payment, the county shall charge and collect in addition to the tax:
(a) A penalty of not more than 10 percent of the amount due, exclusive of interest, or an administrative fee established by the board of county commissioners, whichever is greater; and
(b) Interest on the amount due at the rate of not more than 1.5 percent per month or fraction thereof from the date on which the tax became due until the date of payment.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Nevada Revised Statutes Title 20. Counties and Townships: Formation, Government and Officers § 244.33561. Additional mandatory tax on revenues from rental of transient lodging in certain counties: Imposition and collection; limitation; schedule for payment; penalty and interest for late payment - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nv/title-20-counties-and-townships-formation-government-and-officers/nv-rev-st-244-33561/
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.