Maryland Code, Criminal Law § 11-206

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a)(1) A person may not knowingly require a purchaser or consignee to receive obscene matter as a condition to a sale, allocation, consignment, or delivery for resale of a paper, magazine, book, periodical, publication, or other merchandise.

(2) In response to a person's return of or failure to accept obscene matter, a person may not knowingly:

(i) deny or revoke a franchise;

(ii) threaten to deny or revoke a franchise;  or

(iii) impose a financial or other penalty.

(b) A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to:

(1) for a first violation, imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $1,000 or both;  and

(2) for each subsequent violation, imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $5,000 or both.

Cite this article: - Maryland Code, Criminal Law § 11-206 - last updated December 31, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard