Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
(a) As used in this section the following words shall, unless the context clearly requires otherwise, have the following meanings:--
“Commissioner”, the commissioner of revenue.
“Motion picture”, a feature-length film, a video, a digital media project, a television series defined as a season not to exceed 27 episodes, or a commercial made in the commonwealth, in whole or in part, for theatrical or television viewing or as a television pilot. The term “ motion picture” shall not include a production featuring news, current events, weather and financial market reports, talk show, game show, sporting events, awards show or other gala event, a production whose sole purpose is fundraising, a long-form production that primarily markets a product or service, a production containing obscene material or performances.
“Motion picture production company”, a company including its subsidiaries engaged in the business of producing motion pictures, videos, television series, or commercials intended for a theatrical release or for television viewing. The term “motion picture production company” shall not mean or include any company which is more than 25 per cent owned, affiliated, or controlled, by any company or person which is in default on a loan made by the commonwealth or a loan guaranteed by the commonwealth.
“Massachusetts production expense”, a production expense for the motion picture clearly and demonstrably incurred in the commonwealth.
“Principal photography”, the phase of production during which the motion picture is actually filmed. The term shall not include preproduction or postproduction.
“Production expense” or “production cost”, preproduction, production and postproduction expenditures directly incurred in the production of a motion picture. The term shall include wages and salaries paid to individuals employed in the production of the motion picture; the costs of set construction and operation, editing and related services, photography, sound synchronization, lighting, wardrobe, make-up and accessories; film processing, transfer, sound mixing, special and visual effects; music; location fees and the cost of purchase or rental of facilities and equipment or any other production expense as may be determined by the department of revenue to be an eligible production expense. The term shall not include costs incurred in marketing or advertising a motion picture, any costs related to the transfer of tax credits or any amounts paid to persons or businesses as a result of their participation in profits from the exploitation of the production.
“Secretary”, the secretary of economic development.
(b) A taxpayer engaged in the making of a motion picture shall be allowed a credit against the taxes imposed by this chapter for the employment of persons within the commonwealth in connection with the filming or production of 1 or more motion pictures in the commonwealth within any consecutive 12 month period. The credit shall be equal to 25 per cent of the total aggregate payroll paid by a motion picture production company that constitutes Massachusetts source income, when total production costs incurred in the commonwealth equal or exceed $50,000 during the taxable year. For purposes of this subsection, the term “total aggregate payroll” shall not include the salary of any employee whose salary is equal to or greater than $1,000,000.
(c) A taxpayer shall be allowed an additional credit against the taxes imposed by this chapter equal to 25 per cent of all Massachusetts production expenses, not including the payroll expenses used to claim a credit pursuant to subsection (b), where the motion picture is also eligible for a credit pursuant to subsection (b) and either Massachusetts production expenses exceed 50 per cent of the total production expenses for a motion picture or at least 50 per cent of the total principal photography days of the film take place in the commonwealth.
(d) The tax credit shall be taken against the taxes imposed under this chapter and shall, at the election of the taxpayer, be refundable to the extent provided for in section 32E. Any amount of the tax credit that exceeds the tax due for a taxable year may be carried forward by the taxpayer to any of the 5 subsequent taxable years.
(e)(1) All or any portion of tax credits issued in accordance with the provisions of this section may be transferred, sold or assigned to other taxpayers with tax liabilities under this chapter or chapter 62. Any tax credit that is transferred, sold or assigned and taken against taxes imposed by this chapter or said chapter 62 shall not be refundable. Any amount of the tax credit that exceeds the tax due for a taxable year may be carried forward by the transferee, buyer or assignee to any of the 5 subsequent taxable years from which a certificate is initially issued by the department of revenue.
(2) An owner, transferee or assignee desiring to make a transfer, sale or assignment shall submit to the commissioner a statement which describes the amount of tax credit for which the transfer, sale or assignment of tax credit is eligible. The owner, transferee or assignee shall provide to the commissioner such information as the commissioner may require for the proper allocation of the credit. The commissioner shall provide to the taxpayer a certificate of eligibility to transfer, sell or assign the tax credits. The commissioner shall not issue a certificate to a taxpayer that has an outstanding tax obligation with the commonwealth in connection with any motion picture for any prior taxable year. A tax credit shall not be transferred, sold or assigned without a certificate.
(f) The commissioner, in consultation with the secretary, shall promulgate regulations necessary for the administration of this subsection.
(g) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, aggregate salary and compensation amounts including all per diems, housing and other allowances, paid to, or for the services of, an individual shall not qualify for the credit under this section or for the credit under subsection (l) of section 6 of chapter 62 to the extent that such amounts exceed $2,000,000.
The enforcement of the owner's lien against an occupant who is in default may be done in accordance with either or both of the following procedures:
(1) In the case of short term default, denial of access:
(A) Upon the failure of an occupant to pay the rent for the storage space or unit when it becomes due, the owner may, without notice, deny the occupant access to the personal property located in the self-service storage facility or self-contained storage unit, and the owner without notice, not less than five (5) days after the date the rent is due, may enter and remove the personal property from the leased space to other suitable storage space pending its sale or other disposition; and
(B) The owner shall notify the occupant of the owner's intent to enforce the owner's lien by written notice delivered by hand delivery, by verified mail, or by electronic mail to the occupant's last known address; or
(2) In the case of long term default, which is a continuous fifteen (15) days, the owner may enforce the owner's lien in accordance with the following procedures:
(A) The occupant shall be notified in writing;
(B) The notice shall be delivered by hand delivery, by verified mail, or by electronic mail to the occupant's last known address;
(C) The notice shall include:
(i) An itemized statement of the owner's claim showing the sum due at the time of the notice and the date when the sum became due;
(ii) A demand for payment of the sum due within a specified time not less than thirty (30) days after the date of the notice and a statement of the approximate additional expenses which may be incurred between the date of the notice and the date of the sale;
(iii) A statement that the contents of the occupant's leased space are subject to the owner's lien;
(iv) If the owner elects to deny the occupant access to the leased space or elects to enter and/or remove the occupant's personal property from the leased space to other suitable storage space, a statement so advising the occupant shall be included in the notice;
(v) The name, street address and telephone number of the owner or designated agent whom the occupant may contact to respond to the notice; and
(vi) A conspicuous statement that unless the claim is paid within the time stated, the personal property will be advertised for sale or will be otherwise disposed of at a specified time and place, not sooner than sixty (60) days after default;
(D) Any sale or other disposition of the personal property shall conform to the terms of the notification as provided for in this section. If the personal property is advertised for sale and the sale is not consummated, the owner shall give written notice to the occupant of other disposition of the personal property;
(E) Any sale or other disposition of the personal property shall be held at the self-service storage facility or at the nearest suitable place to where the personal property is held or stored;
(F) After expiration of the time stated in the notice and if the personal property has not otherwise been disposed, the owner shall advertise the sale of the personal property. Such advertisement of sale shall include, but not be limited to, the publishing one (1) time before the date of the sale of the personal property in a newspaper of general circulation which serves the area where the self storage facility is located. The advertisement shall include:
(i) A statement that the contents of the occupant's leased space shall be sold to satisfy the owner's lien;
(ii) The address of the self-service storage facility and the number or other description, if any, of the space where the personal property is located and the name of the occupant; and
(iii) The time, place, and manner of the sale;
(G) Before any sale or other disposition of personal property pursuant to this section, the occupant may pay the amount necessary to satisfy the owner's lien and the reasonable expenses incurred under this section and thereby redeem the personal property. Upon the payment and satisfaction of the amount necessary to satisfy the lien, the owner shall return the personal property and thereafter the owner shall have no liability to any person with respect to such personal property;
(H) The owner may buy at any sale of personal property to enforce the owner's lien;
(I) A purchaser in good faith of the personal property sold to satisfy the owner's lien takes the property free of any rights of persons against whom the lien was valid, despite noncompliance by the owner with the requirements of this section;
(J) In the event of a sale under this section, the owner may satisfy the owner's lien and the expenses of such sale from the proceeds of the sale but shall hold the balance, if any, for delivery on demand to the occupant. If the occupant does not claim the balance of the proceeds within one (1) year of the date of the sale, such balance shall be deemed to be abandoned, and the owner shall pay such balance to the state treasurer who shall receive, hold and dispose of same in accordance with the Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act, compiled in chapter 29, part 1 of this title;
(K) If the property upon which the lien is claimed is a vehicle and rent and other charges related to the property remain unpaid or unsatisfied for sixty (60) days after the maturity of the obligation to pay rent, the facility owner may utilize either of the following options:
(i) The facility owner may have the property towed. If a vehicle is towed as authorized in this subdivision (2)(K)(i), the owner shall not be liable for the vehicle or any damages to the vehicle once the tower takes possession of the property; or
(ii) The facility owner shall contact the appropriate division in such manner as the division prescribes for the purposes of determining the existence and identity of any lien holder and the name and address of the owner of the vehicle, as shown in the records of the division. Within ten (10) days of receipt of such information concerning any lien holder and the owner of such motor vehicle, as shown in the division's records, the owner shall send a written notice to any such lien holder and to the owner, if such owner is not the occupant, by verified mail, stating that:
(a) Such vehicle is being held by the facility owner;
(b) A lien has attached pursuant to this chapter; and
(c) Payment shall be made within thirty (30) days after notification to satisfy the lien. The vehicle owner or lien holder may pay the balance owed and take possession of the vehicle. If the owner or lien holder does not satisfy the lien, the facility owner may sell the vehicle in any manner, including but not limited to, public auction;
(L) The owner's liability arising from the sale is limited to the net proceeds received from the sale of the personal property;
(M) The owner is not liable for identity theft or other harm resulting from the misuse of information contained in a document or electronic storage media:
(i) That are part of the occupant's property sold or otherwise disposed; and
(ii) Of which the owner did not have actual knowledge; and
(N) An owner shall not be entitled to any remedies provided by this chapter, including but not limited to, enforcement of a lien against an occupant, if:
(i) The requirements of this section are not satisfied;
(ii) The sale of the personal property located in the leased space is not in conformity with subdivision(2)(F); or
(iii) There is a willful violation of this chapter.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Massachusetts General Laws Part I. Administration of the Government (Ch. 1-182) Ch. 63, § 38X - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ma/part-i-administration-of-the-government-ch-1-182/ma-gen-laws-ch-63-sect-38x/
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.