Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
(a) Except as authorized by a person in charge, a person commits a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than ten (10) years, a fine of not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00), or both, if that person takes or passes a deadly weapon into a jail, a state penal institution, the Wyoming boys' school, Wyoming girls' school, a correctional facility operated by a private entity pursuant to W.S. 7-22-102 or the state hospital.
(b) Except as authorized by a presiding judge, a person commits a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than one (1) year, a fine of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00), or both, if that person takes into a courtroom a deadly weapon. Any person convicted of a second or subsequent offense under this subsection within five (5) years of the first conviction shall be guilty of a felony punishable by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000.00), imprisonment for not more than two (2) years, or both.
(c) Nothing in this section shall preclude a presiding judge from carrying a weapon or determining who may carry a weapon in the courtroom.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Wyoming Statutes Title 6. Crimes and Offenses § 6-5-209. Taking deadly weapons into jails, penal institutions, mental hospitals or courtrooms; penalties - last updated December 01, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/wy/title-6-crimes-and-offenses/wy-st-sect-6-5-209.html
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.