Skip to main content

Wyoming Statutes Title 31. Motor Vehicles § 31-18-805. Penalties for violations;  permit where vehicle or load cannot be dismantled;  enforcement;  fines

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) Any person who violates this article, rules and regulations promulgated under it or the conditions of any permit issued under it is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable except where otherwise provided in this article, by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500.00), imprisonment for not more than thirty (30) days, or both.

(b) Where the vehicle or load cannot be readily dismantled to meet the provisions of this act [§§ 31-18-801 through 31-18-808], the director or his authorized representative may issue a permit as authorized under this act.

(c) A driver of any vehicle, or combination of vehicles upon demand of any state trooper having reason to believe that the weight of any vehicle or combination, including load, if any, is unlawful, shall stop and submit the vehicle or combination of vehicles and any load thereon to a weighing at any state owned or leased scales not to exceed five (5) miles from the declared route of travel, unless the vehicle has been weighed at a port of entry with the same load.  The driver shall comply with the directions of the trooper to obtain the total weight or measurement of the load and vehicle.

(d) If a vehicle or combination of vehicles does not exceed the gross weight provisions of Table I or Table II, but does exceed the axle limits in an amount not over two thousand (2,000) pounds, or does exceed either the width limits of W.S. 31-18-802(a)(i) or the length limits of W.S. 31-18-802(a)(iv) by not more than twelve (12) inches, the cargo may be repositioned by the operator to comply with the legal limits and be allowed to proceed without penalty.  In the case of a load that has shifted during transit and cannot be reasonably repositioned to meet legal limits, a permit may be issued.

(e) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, the fine for exceeding weight limitations is as follows:




$ 25.00



















Over 20,000


Plus an additional two hundred dollars ($200.00) for each one thousand (1,000) pounds or fraction thereof exceeding twenty thousand (20,000) pounds over the legal limits.

Cite this article: - Wyoming Statutes Title 31. Motor Vehicles § 31-18-805. Penalties for violations;  permit where vehicle or load cannot be dismantled;  enforcement;  fines - last updated December 01, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard