Virginia Code Title 15.2. Counties, Cities and Towns § 15.2-1127. Vacant building registration; civil penalty
Search Code of Virginia
Search by Keyword or Citation
The Town of Clifton Forge, the Town of Pulaski, in a conservation and rehabilitation district of the town, the Town of Timberville, and any city, by ordinance, may require the owner or owners of buildings that have been vacant for a continuous period of 12 months or more, and which meet the definition of “derelict building” under § 15.2-907.1, to register such buildings on an annual basis and may impose an annual registration fee not to exceed $100 to defray the cost of processing such registration. The registration of buildings shall be on forms designated by the locality and filed with the agency designated by the locality. Failure to register shall be a $200 civil penalty; however, failure to register in conservation and rehabilitation districts designated by the governing body, or in other areas designated as blighted pursuant to § 36-49.1:1, shall be punishable by a civil penalty not exceeding $400. Notice shall be mailed to the owner or owners, at the address to which property tax notices are sent, at least 30 days prior to the assessment of the civil penalty.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Virginia Code Title 15.2. Counties, Cities and Towns § 15.2-1127. Vacant building registration; civil penalty - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/va/title-15-2-counties-cities-and-towns/va-code-sect-15-2-1127/
Was this helpful?