Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
(1) As used in this section:
(a) “Minor” means an individual who is less than 18 years old;
(b)(i) “Protected area” means the premises occupied by:
(A) any licensed day care or preschool facility;
(B) a swimming pool that is open to the public;
(C) a public or private primary or secondary school that is not on the grounds of a correctional facility;
(D) a community park that is open to the public;
(E) a playground that is open to the public, including those areas designed to provide children space, recreational equipment, or other amenities intended to allow children to engage in physical activity; and
(F) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b)(ii), an area that is 1,000 feet or less from the residence of a victim of the sex offender if the sex offender is subject to a victim requested restriction.
(ii) “Protected area” does not include the area described in Subsection (1)(b)(i)(F) if:
(A) the victim is a member of the immediate family of the sex offender; and
(B) the terms of the sex offender's agreement of probation or parole allow the sex offender to reside in the same residence as the victim.
(c) “Sex offender” means an adult or juvenile who is required to register in accordance with Title 77, Chapter 41, Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry, due to a conviction for any offense that is committed against a person younger than 18 years old.
(2) For purposes of Subsection (1)(b)(i)(F), a sex offender is subject to a victim requested restriction if:
(a) the sex offender is on probation or parole for an offense that requires the offender to register in accordance with Title 77, Chapter 41, Sex and Kidnap Offender Registry;
(b) the victim or the victim's parent or guardian advises the Department of Corrections that the victim elects to restrict the sex offender from the area and authorizes the Department of Corrections to advise the sex offender of the area where the victim resides; and
(c) the Department of Corrections notifies the sex offender in writing that the sex offender is prohibited from being in the area described in Subsection (1)(b)(i)(F) and provides a description of the location of the protected area to the sex offender.
(3) A sex offender may not:
(a) be in a protected area except:
(i) when the sex offender must be in a protected area to perform the sex offender's parental responsibilities;
(ii)(A) when the protected area is a public or private primary or secondary school; and
(B) the school is open and being used for a public activity other than a school-related function that involves a minor; or
(iii)(A) if the protected area is a licensed day care or preschool facility located within a building that is open to the public for purposes other than the operation of the day care or preschool facility; and
(B) the sex offender does not enter a part of the building that is occupied by the day care or preschool facility; or
(b) serve as an athletic coach, manager, or trainer for any sports team of which a minor who is less than 18 years old is a member.
(4) A sex offender who violates this section is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Utah Code Title 77. Utah Code of Criminal Procedure § 77-27-21.7. Sex offender restrictions - last updated May 05, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ut/title-77-utah-code-of-criminal-procedure/ut-code-sect-77-27-21-7/
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.