Skip to main content

Utah Code Title 76. Utah Criminal Code § 76-3-301. Fines of individuals

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(1) An individual convicted of an offense may be sentenced to pay a fine, not exceeding:

(a) $10,000 for a felony conviction of the first degree or second degree;

(b) $5,000 for a felony conviction of the third degree;

(c) $2,500 for a class A misdemeanor conviction;

(d) $1,000 for a class B misdemeanor conviction;

(e) $750 for a class C misdemeanor conviction or infraction conviction;  and

(f) any greater amounts specifically authorized by statute.

(2)(a) An individual convicted of a misdemeanor or infraction and sentenced to pay a fine may not be charged by a court:

(i) notwithstanding Section 15-1-4 , interest on the judgment that in the aggregate is more than 25% of the initial fine;  or

(ii) that issues an order to show cause under Section 78B-6-317 for failure to pay the fine, interest that is more than 25% of the initial fine.

(b) An individual convicted of an infraction and sentenced to pay a fine may not be charged:

(i) by the Office of State Debt Collection, late fees and interest that in the aggregate are more than 25% of the initial fine;  or

(ii) by a third-party debt contractor of the Office of State Debt Collection, additional fees.

(3) Subsection (2) does not apply to a case that includes:

(a) victim restitution;  or

(b) a felony conviction, even if that felony conviction is later reduced.

(4) This section does not apply to a corporation, association, partnership, government, or governmental instrumentality.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Utah Code Title 76. Utah Criminal Code § 76-3-301. Fines of individuals - last updated May 05, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ut/title-76-utah-criminal-code/ut-code-sect-76-3-301.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard