Tennessee Code Title 55. Motor and Other Vehicles § 55-10-102

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to the scene of the accident as possible or shall return to and in any event remain at the scene of the accident.  After all parties have determined and agreed that there is only damage to the vehicles and no suspected injury of any kind to drivers or passengers, all parties shall remain at the scene of the accident until the requirements of § 55-10-103 have been met.  The stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.  The requirements of this subsection (a) apply to accidents occurring upon highways and the premises of any shopping center, trailer park, or apartment house complex, or any other premises that are generally frequented by the public at large.

(b)(1) Any person failing to stop or to comply with the requirements of subsection (a) under those circumstances, in which damage done to vehicles or property not owned or operated by the person charged with a violation of this section does not exceed five hundred dollars ($500) or would appear to a reasonable person not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500), commits a Class B misdemeanor and may be punished pursuant to § 55-10-301(b).

(2) Any person failing to stop or to comply with the requirements of subsection (a) under those circumstances, in which damage done to vehicles or property not owned or operated by the person charged with a violation of this section exceeds five hundred dollars ($500) or would appear to a reasonable person to exceed five hundred dollars ($500), commits a Class A misdemeanor and in addition thereto may be punished pursuant to § 55-10-101(c).

(3) In addition to the penalties listed in subdivisions (b)(1) and (2), the commissioner of safety shall suspend the driver license or nonresident motor vehicle operating privilege of any person failing to stop or to comply with the requirements of subsection (a) under those circumstances, if the person is also not in compliance with the Tennessee Financial Responsibility Law, compiled in chapter 12, part 1 of this title.  Any suspension under this subdivision (b)(3) shall be for a minimum of one (1) year.  Notice of the suspension of the driver license shall be sent by United States mail not less than twenty (20) days prior to the effective date of suspension.  The notice shall state that the person is entitled to an administrative hearing held by the commissioner of safety, or the commissioner's designee, pursuant to a request under § 55-12-103(a).  A person whose motor vehicle operating privileges have been so suspended may obtain restoration of driving privileges by paying a restoration fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) to the commissioner of safety following the expiration of the suspension period.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Tennessee Code Title 55. Motor and Other Vehicles § 55-10-102 - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/tn/title-55-motor-and-other-vehicles/tn-code-sect-55-10-102/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard