Tennessee Code Title 50. Employer and Employee § 50-2-104

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

Any employer who misrepresents to any employee the amount of wages that the employee is to receive on entering into a new contract of employment commits a Class C misdemeanor.  Further, any employer who misrepresents to any employee the amount of wages that the employee is to receive on entering into a new contract of employment shall be subject to a civil penalty of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) at the discretion of the commissioner or the commissioner's designated representative.  If the commissioner or the commissioner's designated representative determines that the violation was unintentional, there shall be a warning, in lieu of a penalty, on the first offense.  On second or subsequent violations, the civil penalty is applicable and may be assessed at the discretion of the commissioner, or the commissioner's designated representative.  It shall be at the sole discretion of the commissioner to elect to proceed either civilly or criminally upon any violation of this part;  however, the employer shall not be charged both civilly and criminally for the same violation.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Tennessee Code Title 50. Employer and Employee § 50-2-104 - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/tn/title-50-employer-and-employee/tn-code-sect-50-2-104/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard