Skip to main content

Rhode Island General Laws Title 23. Health and Safety § 23-28.28-31. License to conduct blasting operations

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) No person shall conduct blasting operations unless he or she holds a license issued by the state fire marshal.  Any person desiring to obtain a license to conduct blasting operations shall make application to the state fire marshal.  A nonreturnable fee of ten dollars ($10.00) shall accompany each application;  five dollars ($5.00) of which shall be for processing the application and five dollars ($5.00) for the examination.  There shall be a fifty dollar ($50.00) fee for the license if issued.  The application shall be in such form and contain such information as the state fire marshal may require.  Within three (3) months after the date of receipt of his or her application, the applicant shall be examined as to his or her experience and ability to conduct blasting operations and, if found by the examiner to be qualified, he or she shall forthwith be issued a license.  The license shall expire on June 30 of each year and may be renewed after its expiration without examination upon a payment fee of fifty dollars ($50.00).  A holder of a license to conduct blasting operations whose license is lost, misplaced, or stolen may obtain a duplicate license from the state fire marshal upon payment of ten dollars ($10.00).

(b) Persons holding a valid out-of-state blasting certificate of competency shall be subject to all the requirements under this chapter.

(c) The state fire marshal is empowered to deny or immediately suspend or revoke the license of any holder found to be in violation of this law or any provision of chapter 28.28 of this title or rule or regulation related to explosives or has been convicted of arson at common law, or statutory burning involving the property of another.

(d) All fees collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited as general revenue.

(e) No person shall be permitted to work with blasting explosives unless he or she possesses a valid blasting license or possesses an apprentice permit and work under direct supervision of a licensed blaster.

(f) An apprentice permittee shall be required to be employed by a licensed blaster for a period of not less than eighteen (18) months prior to eligibility for examination.  If the apprentice fails the examination, a re-examination can be given not less than one hundred eighty-three (183) days after the last examination date.  A non-refundable fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall accompany each application for processing and issuance of each apprentice permit.

Cite this article: - Rhode Island General Laws Title 23. Health and Safety § 23-28.28-31. License to conduct blasting operations - last updated January 01, 2019 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard