Skip to main content

Oregon Revised Statutes Mortgages and Liens § 86.140

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

If any mortgagee or the personal representative or assignee of the mortgagee, after full performance of the condition of the mortgage before or after a breach thereof, shall, within 30 days after being thereto requested, and after tender of reasonable charges, fail to discharge the same, or to execute and acknowledge a certificate of discharge or release thereof, that person shall be liable to the mortgagor, or the heirs or assigns of the mortgagor, in the sum of $500 damages and also for all actual damages occasioned by such failure, to be recovered in an action at law. The owner and holder of the promissory note referred to in ORS 86.110 is deemed the personal representative of the mortgagee for the purposes of this section.

Cite this article: - Oregon Revised Statutes Mortgages and Liens § 86.140 - last updated January 01, 2018 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard