Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
1.?A person who hunts or fishes any wildlife without having first procured a license or permit to do so, as provided in this title, is guilty of a misdemeanor, except that:
(a)?A license to hunt or fish is not required of a resident of this State who is under 12 years of age, unless required for the issuance of tags as prescribed in this title or by the regulations of the Commission.
(b)?A license to fish is not required of a nonresident of this State who is under 12 years of age, but the number of fish taken by the nonresident must not exceed 50 percent of the daily creel and possession limits as provided by law.
(c)?Except as otherwise provided in subsection 6 or 7 of NRS 202.300 and NRS 502.066, it is unlawful for any child who is under 18 years of age to hunt any wildlife with any firearm, unless the child is accompanied at all times by the child's parent or guardian or is accompanied at all times by an adult person authorized by the child's parent or guardian to have control or custody of the child to hunt if the authorized person is also licensed to hunt.
(d)?A child under 12 years of age, whether accompanied by a qualified person or not, shall not hunt big game in the State of Nevada. ?This section does not prohibit any child from accompanying an adult licensed to hunt.
(e)?The Commission may adopt regulations setting forth:
(1)?The species of wildlife which may be hunted or trapped without a license or permit; ?or
(2)?The circumstances under which a person may fish without a license, permit or stamp in a lake or pond that is located entirely on private property and is stocked with lawfully acquired fish.
(f)?The Commission may declare 1 day per year as a day upon which persons may fish without a license to do so.
2.?This section does not apply to the protection of persons or property from unprotected wildlife on or in the immediate vicinity of home or ranch premises.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Nevada Revised Statutes Title 45. Wildlife § 502.010. License or permit required for hunting or fishing; exceptions; limitations on hunting by minors - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nv/title-45-wildlife/nv-rev-st-502-010/
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.