Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
A. A blanket or group health insurance policy, health care plan or certificate of health insurance that is delivered, issued for delivery or renewed in this state shall provide coverage for a hearing aid and any related service for the full cost of one hearing aid per hearing-impaired ear up to two thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200) every thirty-six months for hearing aids for insured children under eighteen years of age or under twenty-one years of age if still attending high school. The insured may choose a higher priced hearing aid and may pay the difference in cost above the two-thousand-two-hundred-dollar ($2,200) limit as provided in this subsection without financial or contractual penalty to the insured or to the provider of the hearing aid.
B. An insurer that delivers, issues for delivery or renews in this state a blanket or group health insurance policy, health care plan or certificate of health insurance may make available to the policyholder the option of purchasing additional hearing aid coverage that exceeds the services described in this section.
C. Hearing aid coverage offered shall include fitting and dispensing services, including providing ear molds as necessary to maintain optimal fit, provided by an audiologist, a hearing aid dispenser or a physician, licensed in New Mexico.
D. The provisions of this section do not apply to short-term travel, accident-only or limited or specified disease policies.
E. Coverage for hearing aids may be subject to deductibles and coinsurance consistent with those imposed on other benefits under the same policy, plan or certificate.
F. For the purposes of this section, “hearing aid” means durable medical equipment that is of a design and circuitry to optimize audibility and listening skills in the environment commonly experienced by children.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - New Mexico Statutes Chapter 59A. Insurance Code § 59A-23-7.8. Hearing aid coverage for children required - last updated May 06, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nm/chapter-59a-insurance-code/nm-st-sect-59a-23-7-8/
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.