Skip to main content

New Mexico Statutes Chapter 59A. Insurance Code § 59A-12-26. Continuing education

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

A. The superintendent shall require as a condition to continuation of an insurance producer license that during the twenty-four months next preceding expiration of the current license period the licensee has attended the minimum number of hours of formal class instruction, lectures or seminars required and approved by the superintendent covering the kinds of insurance for which licensed.

B. Instruction shall be designed to refresh the licensee's understanding of basic principles and coverages involved, recent and prospective changes, applicable laws and rules of the superintendent, proper conduct of the licensee's business and duties and responsibilities of the licensee.

C. The superintendent may permit licensees who because of remoteness of residence or business cannot with reasonable convenience attend formal instruction sessions to successfully complete an equivalent course of study and instruction online or by mail.

D. The superintendent may impose a penalty not to exceed fifty dollars ($50.00) for a licensee's failure to timely report continuing education credits.

E. The superintendent shall charge, at the time of certifying each licensee's continuing education credits as a condition of continuation of license, a fee of one dollar ($1.00) per credit hour of continuing education;  provided that the superintendent may contract with an independent agency to receive and review continuing education compliance reports and, in such a case, the fee shall be a reasonable amount fixed by the superintendent and payable to the contracting agency.

F. This section shall not apply to holders of:

(1) limited license issued under Section 59A-12-18 NMSA 1978;  and

(2) self-service storage insurance producer license.

Cite this article: - New Mexico Statutes Chapter 59A. Insurance Code § 59A-12-26. Continuing education - last updated May 06, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard