New Jersey Statutes Title 54. Taxation 54 § 5-58

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

The amount required to redeem within 10 days from and including the date of sale, unless a tax sale certificate has been duly issued during the 10-day period, shall be the sum paid at the sale, with interest from the date of sale at the rate of redemption for which the property was sold.  After 10 days from the date of sale including the date of sale as the first day, or after issuance of the tax sale certificate during the 10-day period, the amount required for redemption shall be that amount plus the expenses incurred by the purchaser as hereinafter provided, and subsequent municipal liens, as provided in sections 54:5-59 and 54:5-60 of this Title.  Where, because of municipal fiscal restrictions imposed upon the tax collector, the transmission of the redemption sum to the purchaser is dependent upon the approval of the governing body, or other officer, of the municipality, such interest shall be computed to the time when such governing body or officer may next act with respect thereto.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - New Jersey Statutes Title 54. Taxation 54 § 5-58 - last updated February 19, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nj/title-54-taxation/nj-st-sect-54-5-58.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard