New Jersey Statutes Title 39. Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation 39 § 4-97.2

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

a. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, it shall be unlawful for any person to drive or operate a motor vehicle in an unsafe manner likely to endanger a person or property.

b. A person convicted of a first offense under subsection a. of this section shall be subject to a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $150.00 and shall not be assessed any motor vehicle penalty points pursuant to section 1 of P.L.1982, c. 43 (C.39:5-30.5).

c. A person convicted of a second offense under subsection a. of this section shall be subject to a fine of not less than $100.00 or more than $250.00 and shall not be assessed any motor vehicle penalty points pursuant to section 1 of P.L.1982, c. 43 (C.39:5-30.5).

d. A person convicted of a third or subsequent offense under subsection a. of this section shall be subject to a fine of not less than $200.00 or more than $500.00 and shall be assessed motor vehicle penalty points pursuant to section 1 of P.L.1982, c. 43 (C.39:5-30.5).

e. An offense committed under this section that occurs more than five years after the prior offense shall not be considered a subsequent offense for the purpose of assessing motor vehicle penalty points under subsection d. of this section.

f. In addition to any fine, fee or other charge imposed pursuant to law, the court shall assess a person convicted of an offense under subsection a. of this section a surcharge of $250 which shall be collected by the court and distributed to the Division of Revenue in the Department of the Treasury as a New Jersey Merit Rating Plan surcharge pursuant to subparagraph (a) of paragraph (2) of subsection b. of section 6 of P.L.1983, c. 65 (C.17:29A-35).  The surcharge shall be assessed for offenses occurring on or after July 24, 2000 but before the first day of the first month next following the date the written notification required pursuant to subsection b. of section 2 of P.L.2019, c. 301 (C.52:9S-3.1) is transmitted to the State Treasurer and the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission.  The commission shall have no legal authority to collect any surcharge, together with any interest and administrative fees, that have been assessed but remain unpaid, or that may be levied and required to be paid, on or after that date.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - New Jersey Statutes Title 39. Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation 39 § 4-97.2 - last updated February 19, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nj/title-39-motor-vehicles-and-traffic-regulation/nj-st-sect-39-4-97-2/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard