Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
Except as provided in section 1 of P.L.2011, c. 29 (C.39:10-38), a person who engages in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging motor vehicles or who opens a place of business and attempts to engage in such conduct on a Sunday commits a disorderly persons offense. The first offense is punishable by a fine not to exceed $100 or imprisonment for a period of not more than 10 days or both; the second offense is punishable by a fine not to exceed $500 or imprisonment for a period of not more than 30 days or both; the third or each subsequent offense is punishable by a fine of $750 or imprisonment for a period of six months or both. If the person is a licensed dealer in new or used motor vehicles in this State, under the provisions of chapter 10, Title 39 of the Revised Statutes, the person shall also be subject to suspension or revocation of his dealer's license to engage in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging motor vehicles in this State as provided in Title 39, chapter 10, section 20, for violation of this statute. Nothing contained in this section shall be construed to prohibit a person from accepting a deposit to secure the sale of a recreational vehicle, as defined in section 1 of P.L.1999, c. 284 (C.54:4-1.18), at an off-site sale authorized pursuant to section 2 of P.L.2005, c. 351 (C.39:10-19.2), on a Sunday. Nothing contained in this section shall be construed to prohibit a dealer, engaged in the business of selling motorcycles and licensed pursuant to R.S.39:10-19, and who holds a franchise from a manufacturer of new motorcycles from engaging in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging motorcycles on a Sunday, except that such a dealer shall be prohibited from engaging in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging motorcycles on a Sunday in a county where Sunday sales are prohibited pursuant to sections 14 through 18 of P.L.1999, c. 90 (C.40A:64-1 et seq.) and for a violation of this prohibition shall be subject to the penalties provided in this section for the buying, selling, or exchanging of motor vehicles on a Sunday. As used in this section, the terms “dealer,” “motor vehicle,”and “motorcycle” shall have the meaning set forth in R.S.39:1-1.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - New Jersey Statutes Title 2C. The New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice 2C § 33-26 - last updated February 19, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nj/title-2c-the-new-jersey-code-of-criminal-justice/nj-st-sect-2c-33-26/
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.