Skip to main content

New Jersey Statutes Title 2C. The New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice 2C § 20-2.6

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

a.?A person who knowingly maintains or operates any premises, place or facility used for the storage or resale of any property stolen from a cargo carrier is guilty of a crime. ?Where the property involved in the offense is valued at $50,000 or more, the offense is a crime of the second degree. ?Otherwise, the offense is a crime of the third degree.

b.?Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection a. of N.J.S.2C:43-3, the court may impose a fine not to exceed $250,000 or five times the retail value of the property stolen from the carrier seized at the time of the arrest, whichever is greater.

c.?A person convicted of a second or subsequent offense under this section shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment that shall include a mandatory minimum term of one-third to one-half of the sentence imposed, during which time the defendant shall not be eligible for parole. ?The court may not suspend or make any other non-custodial disposition of any person sentenced as a second or subsequent offender pursuant to this section. ?For the purposes of this section an offense is considered a second or subsequent offense if the actor has at any time been convicted pursuant to this section, or under any similar statute of the United States, this State or any other state for an offense that is substantially equivalent to this section.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - New Jersey Statutes Title 2C. The New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice 2C § 20-2.6 - last updated February 19, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nj/title-2c-the-new-jersey-code-of-criminal-justice/nj-st-sect-2c-20-2-6/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard