Skip to main content

New Jersey Statutes Title 2A. Administration of Civil and Criminal Justice 2A § 33-9

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

If the tenant or owner of property distrained for rent shall not, within 10 days next after the distress taken and after notice thereof, and of the cause of the taking, has been left at the main dwelling house or other most conspicuous place on the premises charged with the rent distrained for, commence an action or otherwise lawfully proceed to recover possession of said property or set aside or end the distraint, the person distraining may, after the distress, notice and expiration of 10 days, on 2 days' notice to the tenant, cause the goods and chattels to be inventoried and appraised by 3 sworn appraisers.

The sheriff of the county, or a constable of the place wherein the distress shall be taken, shall aid and assist therein and shall summon 3 appraisers for such service and shall swear them well and truly to appraise the same, at the true and intrinsic value thereof, according to their best understanding.

Cite this article: - New Jersey Statutes Title 2A. Administration of Civil and Criminal Justice 2A § 33-9 - last updated February 19, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard