New Jersey Statutes Title 26. Health and Vital Statistics 26 § 2S-16
Search New Jersey Statutes
Search by Keyword or Citation
a. A carrier that violates any provision of this act shall be liable to a civil penalty of not less than $250 and not greater than $10,000 for each day that the carrier is in violation of the act if reasonable notice in writing is given of the intent to levy the penalty and, at the discretion of the commissioner, the carrier has 30 days, or such additional time as the commissioner shall determine to be reasonable, to remedy the condition which gave rise to the violation, and fails to do so within the time allowed. The penalty shall be collected by the commissioner in the name of the State in a summary proceeding in accordance with “the penalty enforcement law,” N.J.S.2A:58-1 et seq.
b. (1) The commissioner or the Commissioner of Banking and Insurance may issue an order directing a carrier or a representative of a carrier to cease and desist from engaging in any act or practice in violation of the provisions of this act.
(2) Within 20 days after service of the order of cease and desist, the respondent may request a hearing on the question of whether acts or practices in violation of this act have occurred. The hearing shall be conducted pursuant to the “Administrative Procedure Act,” P.L.1968, c. 410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.) and judicial review shall be available as provided therein.
c. In the case of any violation of the provisions of this act, if the commissioner elects not to issue a cease and desist order, or in the event of noncompliance with a cease and desist order issued pursuant to subsection b. of this section, the commissioner may institute a proceeding to obtain injunctive relief in accordance with the applicable Court Rules.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - New Jersey Statutes Title 26. Health and Vital Statistics 26 § 2S-16 - last updated February 19, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nj/title-26-health-and-vital-statistics/nj-st-sect-26-2s-16/
Was this helpful?