Skip to main content

New Jersey Statutes Title 12. Commerce and Navigation 12 § 7-47

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

a. A person who disregards the rights or safety of others and operates a vessel on the waters of this State in a manner which unnecessarily interferes with the free and proper use of any waters, or which unnecessarily creates a risk of damage or injury to other craft therein, or to person or property, shall be guilty of reckless operation of a vessel and subject to a term of imprisonment not to exceed 60 days, or to a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $200, or both.

On a second or subsequent conviction, a person guilty of reckless operation of a vessel shall be subject to a term of imprisonment not to exceed three months, or to a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500, or both.

b. In addition to any other requirements provided by law, a person convicted under this section shall be required after conviction to complete a boat safety course from the list approved by the Superintendent of State Police pursuant to section 1 of P.L.1987, c. 453 (C. 12:7-60), which shall be completed prior to the restoration of the privilege to operate a vessel which may have been revoked or suspended for a violation of the provisions of this section.  Failure to satisfy this requirement shall result in the immediate forfeiture of the privilege to operate a vessel on the waters of this State, or the continuation of revocation until the requirements of this subsection are satisfied.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - New Jersey Statutes Title 12. Commerce and Navigation 12 § 7-47 - last updated February 19, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nj/title-12-commerce-and-navigation/nj-st-sect-12-7-47/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard