Skip to main content

North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 15. Criminal Procedure § 15-1. Statute of limitations for misdemeanors

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a)?The crimes of deceit and malicious mischief, and the crime of petit larceny where the value of the property does not exceed five dollars ($5.00), and all misdemeanors except malicious misdemeanors, shall be charged within two years after the commission of the same, and not afterwards: ?Provided, that if any pleading shall be defective, so that no judgment can be given thereon, another prosecution may be instituted for the same offense, within one year after the first shall have been abandoned by the State.

(b)?Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, the following misdemeanors shall be charged within 10 years of the commission of the crime:

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 15. Criminal Procedure § 15-1. Statute of limitations for misdemeanors - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/nc/chapter-15-criminal-procedure/nc-gen-st-sect-15-1.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard