Skip to main content

Mississippi Code Title 23. Elections § 23-15-213. Election commissioners

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

<Text of section effective until Jan. 1, 2028.  See, also, § 23-15-213 effective Jan. 1, 2032.>

(1) At the general election in 2020 and every four (4) years thereafter, there shall be elected five (5) election commissioners for each county whose terms of office shall commence on the first Monday of January following their election and who shall serve for a term of four (4) years.  Each of the commissioners shall be required to attend a training seminar provided by the Secretary of State and satisfactorily complete a skills assessment, and before acting, shall take and subscribe the oath of office prescribed by the Constitution.  The oath shall be filed in the office of the clerk of the chancery court.  Upon filing the oath of office, the election commissioner may be provided access to the Statewide Elections Management System for the purpose of performing his or her duties.  While engaged in their duties, the commissioners shall be conservators of the peace in the county, with all the duties and powers of such.

(2) The qualified electors of each supervisors district shall elect, at the general election in 2020, in their district one (1) election commissioner.  The election commissioners from board of supervisors' Districts One, Three and Five shall serve for a term of four (4) years.  The election commissioners from board of supervisors' Districts Two and Four shall serve for a term of six (6) years.  No more than one (1) commissioner shall be a resident of and reside in each supervisors district of the county;  it being the purpose of this section that the county board of election commissioners shall consist of one (1) person from each supervisors district of the county and that each commissioner be elected from the supervisors district in which he or she resides.

(3) Candidates for county election commissioner shall qualify by filing with the clerk of the board of supervisors of their respective counties a petition personally signed by not less than fifty (50) qualified electors of the supervisors district in which they reside, requesting that they be a candidate, by 5:00 p.m. not later than the first Monday in June of the year in which the election occurs and unless the petition is filed within the required time, their names shall not be placed upon the ballot.  All candidates shall declare in writing their party affiliation, if any, to the board of supervisors, and such party affiliation shall be shown on the official ballot.

(4) The petition shall have attached thereto a certificate of the county registrar showing the number of qualified electors on each petition, which shall be furnished by the registrar on request.  The board shall determine the sufficiency of the petition, and if the petition contains the required number of signatures and is filed within the time required, the president of the board shall verify that the candidate is a resident of the supervisors district in which he or she seeks election and that the candidate is otherwise qualified as provided by law, and shall certify that the candidate is qualified to the chair or secretary of the county election commission and the names of the candidates shall be placed upon the ballot for the ensuing election.  No county election commissioner shall serve or be considered as elected until he or she has received a majority of the votes cast for the position or post for which he or she is a candidate.  If a majority vote is not received in the first election, then the two (2) candidates receiving the most votes for each position or post shall be placed upon the ballot for a second election to be held three (3) weeks later in accordance with appropriate procedures followed in other elections involving runoff candidates.

(5) Upon taking office, the county election commissioners shall organize by electing a chair and a secretary.

(6) It shall be the duty of the chair to have the official ballot printed and distributed at each general or special election.

Cite this article: - Mississippi Code Title 23. Elections § 23-15-213. Election commissioners - last updated January 01, 2018 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard