Skip to main content

Minnesota Statutes Local Government Police Powers (Ch. 460-463) § 462.385. Designation of regions

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

Subdivision 1. By governor's order;  hearings.  Development regions for the state shall consist of the following counties:

Region 1:  Kittson, Roseau, Marshall, Pennington, Red Lake, Polk, and Norman.

Region 2:  Lake of the Woods, Beltrami, Mahnomen, Clearwater, and Hubbard.

Region 3:  Koochiching, Itasca, St. Louis, Lake, Cook, Aitkin, and Carlton.

Region 4:  Clay, Becker, Wilkin, Otter Tail, Grant, Douglas, Traverse, Stevens, and Pope.

Region 5:  Cass, Wadena, Crow Wing, Todd, and Morrison.

Region 6E:  Kandiyohi, Meeker, Renville, and McLeod.

Region 6W:  Big Stone, Swift, Chippewa, Lac qui Parle, and Yellow Medicine.

Region 7E:  Mille Lacs, Kanabec, Pine, Isanti, and Chisago.

Region 7W:  Stearns, Benton, Sherburne, and Wright.

Region 8:  Lincoln, Lyon, Redwood, Pipestone, Murray, Cottonwood, Rock, Nobles, and Jackson.

Region 9:  Sibley, Nicollet, LeSueur, Brown, Blue Earth, Waseca, Watonwan, Martin, and Faribault.

Region 10:  Rice, Goodhue, Wabasha, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Freeborn, Mower, Fillmore, and Houston.

Region 11:  Anoka, Hennepin, Ramsey, Washington, Carver, Scott, and Dakota.

Subd. 2. Repealed by Laws 1997, c. 231, art. 12, § 27.

Subd. 3. Ongoing boundary studies;  changes.  Modification of regional boundaries may be initiated by a county requesting assignment to a region other than that within which it is designated.  If a request for reassignment is unacceptable to the commission whose boundaries would be modified, the county requesting reassignment shall remain in the originally designated region until the legislature determines the final assignment.

Cite this article: - Minnesota Statutes Local Government Police Powers (Ch. 460-463) § 462.385. Designation of regions - last updated January 01, 2018 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard