Minnesota Statutes Crimes; Expungement; Victims (Ch. 609-624) § 609.223. Assault in the third degree

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

Subdivision 1. Substantial bodily harm.  Whoever assaults another and inflicts substantial bodily harm may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

Subd. 2. Past pattern of child abuse.  Whoever assaults a minor may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both, if the perpetrator has engaged in a past pattern of child abuse against the minor.  As used in this subdivision, “child abuse” has the meaning given it in section 609.185 , paragraph (a), clause (5).

Subd. 3. Felony;  victim under four.  Whoever assaults a victim under the age of four, and causes bodily harm to the child's head, eyes, or neck, or otherwise causes multiple bruises to the body, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Minnesota Statutes Crimes; Expungement; Victims (Ch. 609-624) § 609.223. Assault in the third degree - last updated January 01, 2018 | https://codes.findlaw.com/mn/crimes-expungement-victims-ch-609-624/mn-st-sect-609-223.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard