Skip to main content

Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 722. Children § 722.1439

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

Sec. 9. ?(1)?If a child has an affiliated father and paternity was determined based on the affiliated father's failure to participate in the court proceedings, the mother, an alleged father, or the affiliated father may file a motion with the court that made the determination to set aside the determination.

(2)?A motion under this section shall be filed within 3 years after the child's birth or within 1 year after the date of the order of filiation, whichever is later. ?The requirement that an action be filed within 3 years after the child's birth or within 1 year after the date of the order of filiation does not apply to an action filed on or before 1 year after the effective date of this act.

(3)?If the court determines that a motion under this section should be denied and the order of filiation not be set aside, the court shall order the person who filed the motion to pay the reasonable attorney fees and costs incurred by any other party because of the motion.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 722. Children § 722.1439 - last updated February 09, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/mi/chapter-722-children/mi-comp-laws-722-1439/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard