Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 554. Real and Personal Property § 554.971
Search Michigan Compiled Laws
Search by Keyword or Citation
Sec. 71. (1) Subject to subsection (2), if the department determines that a person has engaged, is engaging, or is about to engage in an act, practice, or course of business constituting a violation of this act or a rule promulgated or order issued under this act, or that a person has materially aided, is materially aiding, or is about to materially aid an act, practice, or course of business constituting such a violation, the department may issue an order directing the person to cease and desist from engaging in the act, practice, or course of business or to take other action necessary to comply with this act.
(2) Before issuing an order under subsection (1), the department shall notify the person. The notice shall include the proposed order, the reasons for the proposed order, and a statement that, if a hearing is requested in writing within 15 days after issuance of the notice of intent, a hearing will be conducted on the matter within 45 days after receipt of the request, unless the person consents to a later date. If a hearing is not timely requested, the department shall issue an order under subsection (1). If a hearing is timely requested, the department, after notice and an evidentiary hearing pursuant to the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 24.201 to 24.328, may enter a cease and desist order or find that a violation has not occurred.
(3) A person that knowingly authorizes, directs, or aids in violation of a final cease and desist order, or who knowingly fails to comply with the terms of a final cease and desist order, may be fined not more than $10,000.00.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 554. Real and Personal Property § 554.971 - last updated February 09, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/mi/chapter-554-real-and-personal-property/mi-comp-laws-554-971/
Was this helpful?