Skip to main content

Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 418. Worker's Disability Compensation § 418.319

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

Sec. 319.  (1) An employee who has suffered an injury covered by this act shall be entitled to prompt medical rehabilitation services.  When as a result of the injury he or she is unable to perform work for which he or she has previous training or experience, the employee shall be entitled to such vocational rehabilitation services, including retraining and job placement, as may be reasonably necessary to restore him or her to useful employment.  If such services are not voluntarily offered and accepted, the director on his or her own motion or upon application of the employee, carrier, or employer, after affording the parties an opportunity to be heard, may refer the employee to an agency-approved facility for evaluation of the need for, and kind of service, treatment, or training necessary and appropriate to render the employee fit for a remunerative occupation.  Upon receipt of such report, the director may order that the training, services, or treatment recommended in the report be provided at the expense of the employer.  The director may order that any employee participating in vocational rehabilitation shall receive additional payments for transportation or any extra and necessary expenses during the period and arising out of his or her program of vocational rehabilitation.  Vocational rehabilitation training, treatment, or service shall not extend for a period of more than 52 weeks except in cases when, by special order of the director after review, the period may be extended for an additional 52 weeks or portion thereof.  If there is an unjustifiable refusal to accept rehabilitation pursuant to a decision of the director, the director shall order a loss or reduction of compensation in an amount determined by the director for each week of the period of refusal, except for specific compensation payable under section 361(1) and (2). 1

(2) A party may appeal an order of the director under subsection (1) to the Michigan compensation appellate commission within 15 days after the order is mailed to the parties.

1 M.C.L.A. § 418.361.

Cite this article: - Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 418. Worker's Disability Compensation § 418.319 - last updated February 09, 2022 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard