Skip to main content

Maryland Code, Transportation § 21-1121

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) This section applies only to a Class E (truck) vehicle registered or of a type capable of being registered in this State as a Class E (truck) vehicle with a manufacturer's rated capacity of 3/4 ton or less, the gross vehicle weight of which does not exceed 7,000 pounds.

(b)(1) Subject to paragraph (2) of this subsection, this section does not apply to:

(i) A vehicle traveling at a speed of not more than 25 miles per hour;  or

(ii) The transportation of:

1. An employee to or from a work site by the employer of the employee;  or

2. An individual in a vehicle engaged in farming operations.

(2) This subsection may not be construed as to eliminate applicable child safety seat and seat belt requirements under §§ 22-412.2 and 22-412.3 of this article.

(c) An individual may not drive a Class E (truck) vehicle on a highway in the State while a passenger under the age of 16 years is riding in an unenclosed bed of the vehicle.

Cite this article: - Maryland Code, Transportation § 21-1121 - last updated December 31, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard