Maryland Code, Commercial Law § 11-902
Search Code of Maryland
Search by Keyword or Citation
(a)(1) In this section the following words have the meanings indicated.
(2) “Attached” means printed, painted, stamped, burned, or otherwise placed on or attached to.
(3) “Battery” means an electric storage battery which has an identification mark attached to it.
(4) “Identification mark” means:
(i) The word “rental”; or
(ii) Any other word, mark, device, or character which is attached to a battery to identify its ownership.
(b) A person may not remove, deface, alter, or destroy or cause to be removed, defaced, altered, or destroyed any identification mark attached to a battery which he does not own.
(c) A person other than the owner may not dispose of, sell, deliver, or give or attempt to dispose of, sell, deliver, or give any battery to any person except its owner.
(d) Except in an emergency, a person may not recharge any battery without the consent of its owner or his authorized agent or employee.
(e) A person may not retain possession of a battery for more than 30 days after the owner demands the return of the battery by registered or certified mail.
(f) Any person who violates any provision of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $25.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Maryland Code, Commercial Law § 11-902 - last updated December 31, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/md/commercial-law/md-code-coml-sect-11-902/
Was this helpful?