Massachusetts General Laws Part IV. Crimes, Punishments and Proceedings in Criminal Cases (Ch. 263-280) Ch. 270, § 6

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

<[ Text of section effective until December 31, 2018.  For text effective December 31, 2018, see below.]>

Whoever sells a cigarette, chewing tobacco, snuff or any tobacco in any of its forms to any person under the age of eighteen or, not being his parent or guardian, gives a cigarette, chewing tobacco, snuff or tobacco in any of its forms to any person under the age of eighteen shall be punished by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars for the first offense, not less than two hundred dollars for a second offense and not less than three hundred dollars for any third or subsequent offense.

§ 6

<[ Text of section as amended by 2018, 157, Sec. 9 effective December 31, 2018.  See 2018, 157, Sec. 23.  For text effective until December 31, 2018, see above.]>

(a) As used in this section and sections 6A and 7, the following words shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly requires otherwise:

Manufacturer”, a person that manufactures or produces a tobacco product.

Person”, an individual, firm, fiduciary, partnership, corporation, trust or association, however formed, or a club, trustee, agency or receiver.

Retail establishment”, a physical place of business or a section of a physical place of business wherein a tobacco product is offered for sale to consumers.

Retailer”, a person that operates a retail establishment.

Tobacco product”, a product containing, made or derived from tobacco or nicotine that is intended for human consumption, whether smoked, chewed, absorbed, dissolved, inhaled, snorted, sniffed or ingested by any other means including, but not limited to, cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, snuff, electronic cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic pipes, electronic nicotine delivery systems or any other similar products that rely on vaporization or aerosolization;  provided, however, that “tobacco product” shall also include any component, part or accessory of a tobacco product;  and provided further, that “tobacco product” shall not include a product that has been approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration for the sale of or use as a tobacco cessation product and is marketed and sold exclusively for the approved purpose.

(b) No person shall sell or provide a tobacco product to a person who is under 21 years of age.

(c) No manufacturer or retailer shall distribute or cause to be distributed a free sample of a tobacco product in a retail or other commercial establishment;  provided, however, that this subsection shall not apply to retail tobacco stores and smoking bars as defined in section 22.

(d) A person who violates this section shall be punished by a fine of $100 for the first offense, $200 for a second offense and $300 for a third or subsequent offense.

(e) The department of public health may promulgate regulations to implement this section.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Massachusetts General Laws Part IV. Crimes, Punishments and Proceedings in Criminal Cases (Ch. 263-280) Ch. 270, § 6 - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ma/part-iv-crimes-punishments-and-proceedings-in-criminal-cases-ch-263-280/ma-gen-laws-ch-270-sect-6.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard