Skip to main content

Hawaii Revised Statutes Division 1. Government § 88-182

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

Except in the counties of Hawaii and Maui, each pension board shall consist of five members to be appointed for terms of five years. The original members shall be appointed for staggered terms so that one shall expire on June 30 of each year. All vacancies occurring otherwise than by expiration of the term shall be filled by appointment for the remainder of the unexpired term. One of the members shall be named by the appointing power as chairperson. The members shall be appointed by the mayor, or chairperson of the council of the county, as the case may be, with the approval of the council, and the members may be removed by the appointing power with the approval of the following number of other members of the council: in the city and county of Honolulu, five; in the county of Kauai, three.

The pension board for the county of Maui and the county of Hawaii shall consist of the chairperson of the council of the county, the county auditor, and the county treasurer.

Cite this article: - Hawaii Revised Statutes Division 1. Government § 88-182 - last updated January 01, 2019 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard