Skip to main content

Georgia Code Title 19. Domestic Relations § 19-3-2

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) To be able to contract marriage, a person must:

(1) Be of sound mind;

(2) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this Code section, be at least 18 years of age;

(3) Have no living spouse of a previous undissolved marriage.  The dissolution of a previous marriage in divorce proceedings must be affirmatively established and will not be presumed.  Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to affect the legitimacy of children;  and

(4) Not be related to the prospective spouse by blood or marriage within the prohibited degrees.

(b) If either applicant for marriage is 17 years of age, documentary proof that such applicant was emancipated by operation of law or pursuant to a petition filed with the court as provided in Article 10 of Chapter 11 of Title 15 shall be required before a license may be issued pursuant to Article 2 of this chapter;  provided, in addition, that:

(1) If the emancipation was pursuant to a petition filed with the court, a certified copy of the order providing for the emancipation shall be provided as documentary proof;

(2) At least 15 days shall have passed since such emancipation shall have occurred by operation of law or pursuant to a petition filed with the court;

(3) The older party to the marriage contract shall not be more than four years older than the younger party to the marriage contract;  and

(4) Each party to the marriage contract who is 17 years of age shall present a certificate of completion of premarital education as provided under Code Section 19-3-30.1.

(c) No license provided for under Article 2 of this chapter shall be issued for the marriage of any party who is under 17 years of age.

Cite this article: - Georgia Code Title 19. Domestic Relations § 19-3-2 - last updated April 14, 2021 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard