Delaware Code Title 6. Commerce and Trade § 5141. Fines payable by mail
Search Delaware Codes
Search by Keyword or Citation
(a) Applicability.--Any weights and measures inspector in this State, who issues a citation for any of the offenses which are violations of laws or regulations established or promulgated under the authority of this chapter, may, in addition to issuing a summons for any such offenses, provide the violator with a voluntary assessment form which, when properly executed by the weights and measures inspector and the offender, allows the offender to dispose of the charges without the necessity of personally appearing in the court to which the summons is returnable.
(b) Definitions.--(1) “Payment” as used in this section shall mean the total amount of the fine and of the costs as herein provided and of the penalty assessment added to the fine pursuant to the Delaware Victim Compensation Law, Chapter 90 of Title 11.
(2) “Voluntary assessment form” as used in this section means the written agreement or document signed by the violator wherein the violator agrees to pay by mail the fine for the offense described therein together with costs and penalty assessment.
(c) Places and time of payment.--Payments made pursuant to this section shall be remitted to the court to which the summons is returnable and shall be disbursed to the General Fund of the State. The payment must be received by the court within 10 days from the date the citation was issued (excluding Saturday and Sunday) and shall be paid only by check or money order.
(d) Offenses designated as “offenses subject to voluntary assessment”; exceptions.--All offenses, as now or hereafter set forth in this title or regulations promulgated under the authority of this title, are hereby designated as offenses subject to voluntary assessment except the following offenses: violation of § 5133 and § 5134 of this title.
(e) Offer and acceptance of voluntary assessment; effect; withdrawal of acceptance; request for hearing.--(1) At the time of issuing a citation for any offense subject to this section, the weights and measures inspector may offer the alleged violator the option of accepting a voluntary assessment. The alleged violator's signature on the voluntary assessment form constitutes an acknowledgment of guilt of the offense stated in the form, and on agreement to pay the fine as herein provided, together with the costs and penalty assessment, within 10 days from the date of the issuance of the citation (excluding Saturday and Sunday), during which time payment must be received by the court.
(2) The alleged violator, after signing and receiving the voluntary assessment form, may withdraw the violator's acceptance of the voluntary assessment and request a hearing on the charge stated in such form, provided that the alleged violator, within 10 days from the date of the issuance of the citation (excluding Saturday and Sunday), personally or in writing notifies the court to which payment of the penalty assessment was to be made that the violator wishes to withdraw the violator's acceptance of the voluntary assessment and requests a hearing on the charge stated in the voluntary assessment form. If the alleged violator notifies the court of such withdrawal and request for hearing as aforesaid, the violator shall be prosecuted for the charge stated in the voluntary assessment form as if such form had not been issued.
(f) Penalty.--If an alleged violator elects the option of accepting a voluntary assessment in accordance with subsection (e) of this section, the penalty for offenses designated as offenses subject to voluntary assessment shall be the minimum fine for each specific offense charged, and fines shall be cumulative if more than 1 offense is charged.
(g) Court costs and applicability of Delaware Victim Compensation Law.--In lieu of any court costs, and provided the offense is not subject to other proceedings under this section, each fine for an offense under this section shall be subject to court costs of $8.50. Each fine for an offense under this section shall be subject also to the penalty assessment which is or may be provided for in the Delaware Victim Compensation Law, Chapter 90 of Title 11.
(h) Agreement to accept voluntary assessment; procedure.--Whenever a person is issued a citation for an offense subject to voluntary assessment and has elected to make payment as herein provided, the weights and measures inspector, using the weights and measures citation, shall complete the information section and prepare the voluntary assessment form indicating the amount of the fine, have the alleged violator sign the voluntary assessment form, and give a copy of the citation and form to the individual cited for violating the requirements of this chapter or the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. The weights and measures inspector issuing the citation shall also inform the individual cited of the court to which payment shall be submitted. No weights and measures inspector shall receive or accept custody of a payment. If the person declines to accept the voluntary assessment, the weights and measures inspector shall follow the procedures outlined in § 5134 of this title.
(i) Payment of fine as complete satisfaction; repeat offenders.--(1) Payment of the prescribed fine, costs and penalty assessment is a complete satisfaction of the violation, except as provided in paragraph (i)(2) of this section.
(2) In the event that following compliance with the payment provisions of this section, it is determined that within the 2-year period immediately preceding the violation, the violator was convicted of or made a payment pursuant to this section in satisfaction of a violation of the same section of this title, personal appearance before the court to which summons is returnable shall be required. Notice of the time and place for the required court appearance shall be given to the violator to which the summons for the offense would be returnable.
(j) Removal from applicability of section.--If a payment due pursuant to this section is not received by the court to which the summons is returnable within 10 days from the date of the issuance of the citation, the violator shall be prosecuted for the offense charged on the voluntary assessment form in a manner as if a voluntary assessment form had not been used. Upon conviction in such prosecution, the court shall impose penalties as provided for by this title or other law relating to the particular violation charged, and this section, as to payment of fines under voluntary assessments, shall not apply.
(k) Nonexclusive procedure.--The procedure prescribed is not exclusive of any other method prescribed by law for the prosecution of persons violating this title.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Delaware Code Title 6. Commerce and Trade § 5141. Fines payable by mail - last updated January 01, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/de/title-6-commerce-and-trade/de-code-sect-6-5141/
Was this helpful?