Delaware Code Title 19. Labor § 2313. Record and report of injuries by employers; penalty; admissibility as evidence
Search Delaware Codes
Search by Keyword or Citation
(a) Every employer to whom this chapter applies shall keep a record of all injuries, fatal or otherwise, received by employees in the course of their employment. Within 10 days after knowledge of the occurrence of an accident resulting in personal injury, a report thereof shall be made in writing by the employer to the Department in duplicate on blanks to be procured from the Department for that purpose. The employer shall provide a copy of the report of injury to the employee upon completion of the report. Upon the termination of the disability of the injured employee, the employer shall make a supplemental report to the Department.
(b) The reports shall contain the name and nature of the business of the employer, the location of the employer's establishment or place of work, the name, age, sex and occupation of the injured employee and shall state the time, nature and cause of the injury and such other information as may be required for properly carrying out this chapter. The employee's copy shall contain a summary of the law as provided by the Department.
(c) Whoever, being an employer, refuses or neglects to make a report required by this section shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $250 for each offense. In the event the employer can show that the failure to make a report required by this section was caused by the refusal of the insurance carrier for the employer to report a reportable injury which the insurance carrier had knowledge of and of which the employer had no knowledge, after written request therefor, the aforementioned fine may be levied against said insurance carrier. The fine shall be assessed by the Industrial Accident Board after the employer and/or the insurance carrier for the employer is given notice and a hearing on the violation. The fine shall be payable to the Workers' Compensation Fund.
(d) Reports made in accordance with this section shall not be evidence against the employer in any proceedings under this chapter or otherwise but shall be exclusively for the information of the Department in securing data to be used in connection with the performance of their duties.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Delaware Code Title 19. Labor § 2313. Record and report of injuries by employers; penalty; admissibility as evidence - last updated January 01, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/de/title-19-labor/de-code-sect-19-2313/
Was this helpful?