Delaware Code Title 18. Insurance Code § 520. Suspension or revocation of certificate of authority--Discretionary and special grounds
Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
Search Delaware Codes
Search by Keyword or Citation
(a) The Commissioner may, in his or her discretion, refuse to continue or may suspend or revoke an insurer's certificate of authority if he or she finds after a hearing thereon, or upon waiver of hearing by the insurer, that the insurer has violated or failed to comply with any lawful order of the Commissioner, or has wilfully violated or wilfully failed to comply with any lawful regulation of the Commissioner, or has violated any provision of this title or any other title of the Delaware Code applicable to insurers other than those for violation of which suspension or revocation is mandatory, or, in lieu of such suspension or revocation, the Commissioner may, in his or her discretion, levy upon the insurer, and the insurer shall pay forthwith, an administrative fine of not over $5,000.
(b) The Commissioner shall suspend or revoke an insurer's certificate of authority on any of the following grounds, if the Commissioner finds after a hearing thereon that the insurer:
(1) Is in unsound condition, or is being fraudulently conducted, or is in such condition or using such methods and practices in the conduct of its business as to render its further transaction of insurance in this State currently or prospectively hazardous or injurious to policyholders or to the public;
(2) With such frequency as to indicate its general business practice in this State, has without just cause failed to pay or delayed payment of claims arising under its policies, whether the claim is in favor of an insured or is in favor of a third person with respect to the liability of an insured to such third person; or, with like frequency, without just cause compels insureds or claimants to accept less than the amount due them or to employ attorneys or to bring suit against the insurer or such an insured to secure full payment or settlement of such claims;
(3) Refuses to be examined, or if its directors, officers, employees or representatives refuse to submit to examination relative to its affairs, or to produce its accounts, records and files for examination by the Commissioner when required, or refuse to perform any legal obligation relative to the examination;
(4) Has failed to pay any final judgment rendered against it in this State upon any policy, bond, recognizance or undertaking as issued or guaranteed by it, within 30 days after the judgment became final, or within 30 days after dismissal of an appeal before final determination, whichever date is the later;
(5) As defined in Chapter 40 of this title, has failed to comply with § 4006 of this title;
(6) As defined in Chapter 40 of this title, has failed to accept the State’s right of recovery and the assignment to the State of any right of an individual or other entity to payment from the party for an item or service for which payment has been made under the state Medicaid Plan;
(7) As defined in Chapter 40 of this title, has failed to respond to any inquiry by the State regarding a claim for payment for any health-care item or service that is submitted within 3 years of the date of the provision of such health-care item or service;
(8) As defined in Chapter 40 of this title, has denied a claim submitted by the State on the basis of lack of prior authorization; has denied a claim submitted by the State based solely on the date of submission of the claim, the type or format of the claim, or a failure to present proper documentation at the point-of-sale that is the basis of the claim, if:
a. The claim submitted by the State is made within 3 years of the date when the item or service was furnished; and
b. Any action by the State to enforce its rights with respect to such claim is commenced within 6 years of the State’s submission of such claim.
(c) The Commissioner may, in his or her discretion and without advance notice or a hearing thereon, immediately suspend the certificate of authority of any insurer as to which proceedings for receivership, conservatorship, rehabilitation or other delinquency proceedings have been commenced in any state by the public insurance supervisory official of such state.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Delaware Code Title 18. Insurance Code § 520. Suspension or revocation of certificate of authority--Discretionary and special grounds - last updated January 01, 2022 | https://codes.findlaw.com/de/title-18-insurance-code/de-code-sect-18-520/
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.
Was this helpful?