Skip to main content

Delaware Code Title 10. Courts and Judicial Procedure § 8715. Distress proceedings

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

The fees in distress proceedings, for the services specified, shall be as listed below:

For making distress and giving notice․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․

․․․․$ .50

Summoning and qualifying freeholders, including cases where freeholders both value rent and appraise goods


All services by a freeholder․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․




And 2 percent upon the proceeds of sale, applied to rent.

Giving notice to landlord of sale of tenant's goods․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․․


And 2 cents a mile going and returning from the premises to the landlord's residence; this fee to be charged to the tenant, and first paid out of the sale of the tenant's goods.

For giving such notice the officer shall have but 1 fee, whatever be the number of writs in the officer's hands against the tenant. If there be executions or attachments, in the hands of several constables at the time of giving such notice, only the officer who made the first levy shall receive the fee under this provision.

Cite this article: - Delaware Code Title 10. Courts and Judicial Procedure § 8715. Distress proceedings - last updated January 01, 2019 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard