California Code, Civil Code - CIV § 1984

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) A notice given to the former tenant which is in substantially the following form satisfies the requirements of Section 1983:

Notice of Right to Reclaim Abandoned Property

To: _______________________________________________________________________________________________

(Name of former tenant)


(Address of former tenant)

    When you vacated the premises at  ________________________________________________________________


(Address of premises, including room or apartment number, if any)

  the following personal property remained:


(Insert description of the personal property)

  You may claim this property at  _________________________________________________________________

(Address where property may be claimed).

  If you claim this property by ____ (insert date not less than 2 days after the former tenant vacated the premises), you may minimize the costs of storage.If you fail to claim this property by ____ (insert date not less than 2 days after the former tenant vacated the premises), unless you pay the landlord's reasonable cost of storage for all the above-described property, and take possession of the property which you claim, not later than _______ (insert date not less than 15 days after notice is personally delivered or, if mailed, not less than 18 days after notice is deposited in the mail) this property may be disposed of pursuant to Civil Code Section 1988.

    (Insert here the statement required by subdivision (b) of this section)

Dated:  __________


(Signature of landlord)


(Type or print name of landlord)


(Telephone number)



(b) The notice set forth in subdivision (a) shall also contain one of the following statements:

(1) “If you fail to reclaim the property, it will be sold at a public sale after notice of the sale has been given by publication.  You have the right to bid on the property at this sale.  After the property is sold and the cost of storage, advertising, and sale is deducted, the remaining money will be paid over to the county.  You may claim the remaining money at any time within one year after the county receives the money.”

(2) “Because this property is believed to be worth less than $700, it may be kept, sold, or destroyed without further notice if you fail to reclaim it within the time indicated above.”

Cite this article: - California Code, Civil Code - CIV § 1984 - last updated January 01, 2019 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard