Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.
(a) Any person who is found guilty of or who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to Medicaid fraud as described in this subchapter shall pay one (1) of the following fines:
(1) If no monetary loss is incurred by the Arkansas Medicaid Program, a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or more than three thousand dollars ($3,000) for each omission or fraudulent act or claim; or
(2) If a monetary loss is incurred by the Arkansas Medicaid Program, a fine of an amount not less than the amount of the monetary loss to the Arkansas Medicaid Program and not more than three (3) times the amount of the monetary loss to the Arkansas Medicaid Program.
(b)(1) The fines described in subdivision (a)(2) of this section may be waived by the prosecuting attorney.
(2) If the fines are waived, the trier of fact may impose fines under § 5-4-201.
(c) All fines assessed under subsection (a) of this section shall be credited to the general revenues of the State of Arkansas.
Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Arkansas Code Title 5. Criminal Offenses § 5-55-108. Fines - last updated January 01, 2020 | https://codes.findlaw.com/ar/title-5-criminal-offenses/ar-code-sect-5-55-108/
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.
Was this helpful?