Skip to main content

Arkansas Code Title 14. Local Government § 14-118-206. Board of commissioners

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) When the circuit court has established the improvement district upon the petition of the commission, it shall proceed for the appointment of a board of commissioners in the same manner as provided by § 14-118-106.

(b) The board of commissioners shall have all the rights, powers, authorities, and duties required or necessary for the construction, operation, and maintenance of the improvements set forth in the petition for the establishment of the district and as are provided under and by virtue of the provisions of §§ 14-118-106 -- 14-118-114.  However, any such board of commissioners shall consist of not less than five (5) members nor more than nine (9) members.

(c) The term of the initial board members shall be staggered whereas four (4) shall expire one (1) each year for four (4) years, and the remaining members of the board shall have five-year terms.

(d) Each member shall serve until his successor is appointed and qualified.

(e) Appointments by the court shall be made upon petition by the commission established under this subchapter.

Cite this article: - Arkansas Code Title 14. Local Government § 14-118-206. Board of commissioners - last updated January 01, 2020 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard