Wyoming Statutes Title 6. Crimes and Offenses § 6-3-301. Burglary;  aggravated burglary;  penalties

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) A person is guilty of burglary if, without authority, he enters or remains in a building, occupied structure or vehicle, or separately secured or occupied portion thereof, with intent to commit theft or a felony therein.

(b) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, burglary is a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than ten (10) years, a fine of not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00), or both.

(c) Aggravated burglary is a felony punishable by imprisonment for not less than five (5) years nor more than twenty-five (25) years, a fine of not more than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000.00), or both, if, in the course of committing the crime of burglary, the person:

(i) Is or becomes armed with or uses a deadly weapon or a simulated deadly weapon;

(ii) Knowingly or recklessly inflicts bodily injury on anyone;  or

(iii) Attempts to inflict bodily injury on anyone.

(d) As used in this section “in the course of committing the crime” includes the time during which an attempt to commit the crime or in which flight after the attempt or commission occurred.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Wyoming Statutes Title 6. Crimes and Offenses § 6-3-301. Burglary;  aggravated burglary;  penalties - last updated December 01, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/wy/title-6-crimes-and-offenses/wy-st-sect-6-3-301/


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard