Wyoming Statutes Title 31. Motor Vehicles § 31-5-234. Unlawful operation of vehicle by youthful driver with detectable alcohol concentration; penalty
Search Wyoming Statutes
(a) As used in this section:
(i) “Alcohol concentration” means:
(A) The number of grams of alcohol per one hundred (100) milliliters of blood;
(B) The number of grams of alcohol per two hundred ten (210) liters of breath; or
(C) The number of grams of alcohol per seventy-five (75) milliliters of urine.
(iii) “Peace officer” means as defined by W.S. 7-2-101(a)(iv)(A), (B) and (G) ;
(iv) “Conviction” means as defined by W.S. 31-7-102(a)(xi) .
(b) A person younger than twenty-one (21) years of age shall not operate or be in actual physical control of a vehicle in this state with an alcohol concentration of two one-hundredths of one percent (0.02%) or more nor operate or be in actual physical control of a vehicle in this state with an alcohol concentration of two one-hundredths of one percent (0.02%) or more as measured within two (2) hours after the time of driving or being in actual physical control following a lawful arrest resulting from a valid traffic stop.
(c) Repealed by Laws 2002, Sp. & Bud. Sess., ch. 93, § 2.
(d) When a peace officer has probable cause to believe that a person may be violating or has violated subsection (b) of this section, the peace officer may require that the person submit to a chemical test or tests to be administered in compliance with W.S. 31-6-108 . Prosecution for a violation of this section is a bar to prosecution under W.S. 12-6-101(b) or any similar municipal ordinance.
(e) A person convicted of violating this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00). A person convicted of violating this section a second time within one (1) year of the first conviction is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than one (1) month, a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or both. A person convicted of a third or subsequent conviction under this section within two (2) years shall be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than six (6) months, a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), or both. The court may order the person to undergo a substance abuse assessment and complete any recommended treatment for any conviction under this section as a condition of probation. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the term of probation imposed by a judge under this section may exceed the maximum term of imprisonment established for the offense under this subsection provided the term of probation together with any extension thereof, shall in no case exceed three (3) years.
(f) A person convicted under this section or other law prohibiting driving while under the influence as defined in W.S. 31-5-233(a)(v) shall, in addition to the penalty imposed in subsection (e) of this section:
(i) Have his driver's license denied or suspended pursuant to W.S. 31-7-128(h) . The court shall forward a copy of the conviction to the department;
(ii) For a first conviction where the department's administrative action indicates the person had an alcohol concentration of fifteen one-hundredths of one percent (0.15%) or more, operate only vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device, pursuant to W.S. 31-7-401 through 31-7-404 , for a period of six (6) months. For purposes of this paragraph, the department's administrative action shall be deemed to indicate a person had an alcohol concentration of fifteen one-hundredths of one percent (0.15%) or more only after the person is notified of and given the opportunity to pursue the administrative procedures provided by W.S. 31-7-105 ;
(v) For a fourth or subsequent conviction, operate only vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device, pursuant to W.S. 31-7-401 through 31-7-404 , for the remainder of the offender's life, except five (5) years from the date of conviction and every five (5) years thereafter, the offender may apply to the court for removal of the ignition interlock device required by this paragraph. The court may, for good cause shown, remove the ignition interlock device requirement if the offender has not been subsequently convicted of driving a motor vehicle in violation of this section, W.S. 31-5-233 or other law prohibiting driving while under the influence as defined in W.S. 31-5-233(a)(v) .
(g) The court may, upon pronouncement of any jail sentence under subsection (e) of this section, provide in the sentence that the defendant may be permitted, if he is employed or enrolled in school and can continue his employment or education, to continue such employment or education for not more than the time necessary as certified by his employer or school administrator, and the remaining day, days or parts of days shall be spent in jail until the sentence is served. He shall be allowed out of jail only long enough to complete his actual hours of employment or education and a reasonable time to travel to and from his place of employment or school. Unless the defendant is indigent, the court shall require him as a condition of special treatment under this subsection to pay a reasonable amount for room and board as determined by the sheriff.
(h) Chemical analysis of a person's blood, breath or urine to determine alcohol concentration or controlled substance content shall be performed in accordance with W.S. 31-6-105(a) .
Read this complete Wyoming Statutes Title 31. Motor Vehicles § 31-5-234. Unlawful operation of vehicle by youthful driver with detectable alcohol concentration; penalty on Westlaw
FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.
FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.