Wyoming Statutes Title 14. Children § 14-3-304. Purchase by person under twenty-one years of age prohibited

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) No person under the age of twenty-one (21) years shall purchase or attempt to purchase nicotine products, or misrepresent his identity or age, or use any false or altered identification for the purpose of purchasing or attempting to purchase nicotine products.  A person shall not be arrested for an alleged violation of this subsection but shall be issued a citation as a charging document by a peace officer having probable cause to believe the person violated this subsection.  An officer issuing a citation shall deposit one (1) copy of the citation with the court having jurisdiction over the alleged offense.  Bond may be posted and forfeited for an offense charged under this section in an amount equal to the fine imposed by subsection (b) of this section.

(b) Any person violating subsection (a) of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of twenty-five dollars ($25.00).

(c) In lieu of the fine under subsection (b) of this section, the court may allow the defendant to perform community service or attend a tobacco or nicotine cessation program and be granted credit against his fine and court costs at the rate of ten dollars ($10.00) for each hour of work performed or each hour of tobacco or nicotine cessation program attended.

(d) No conviction under this section, whether by guilty plea, adjudication of guilt or forfeiture of bond shall be reported by the court to any law enforcement agency.  Upon payment of the fine imposed by subsection (b) of this section, a criminal conviction under this section shall be expunged by operation of law from all records of the court six (6) months after the entry of conviction.  For any person whose record of conviction was expunged under this subsection, the conviction is deemed not to have occurred and the individual may reply accordingly upon any inquiry in the matter.  No expungement under this subsection shall be considered for purposes of any other law providing for expungement.

Cite this article: FindLaw.com - Wyoming Statutes Title 14. Children § 14-3-304. Purchase by person under twenty-one years of age prohibited - last updated December 01, 2021 | https://codes.findlaw.com/wy/title-14-children/wy-st-sect-14-3-304.html


FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard