Skip to main content

Wisconsin Statutes Insurance (Ch. 600 to 655) § 648.30. Nondisclosure of information

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(a) Upon issuing a driver's license, the department shall have authority, whenever good cause appears, to impose restrictions suitable to the licensee's driving ability with respect to special mechanical control devices required on a motor vehicle which the licensee may operate or such other restrictions applicable to the licensee as the department may determine to be appropriate to assure the safe operation of a motor vehicle by the licensee. The commissioner may promulgate such rules and regulations as are necessary to implement this Code section.

(b) The department may either issue a special restricted license or set forth such restrictions upon the usual license form.

(c) No person shall operate a motor vehicle in any manner in violation of the restrictions imposed in a restricted license issued to him or her;  provided, however, that at the time of the hearing on such offense, if such person was charged with driving in violation of a restriction requiring that he or she wear eyeglasses or contact lenses, such person shall not be guilty of such offense if he or she presents the trial court with admissible medical or other evidence sufficient to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the trial court that he or she no longer suffers from the vision condition that resulted in the imposition of such restriction.

(d) Upon a person being convicted of a violation of this Code section, the court may order the department to suspend such person's license for a period not to exceed six months.  The court shall determine the length of such suspension and shall report such suspension and the length thereof to the department.  The department shall reinstate the license at the end of the suspension period upon receipt of a reinstatement fee of $210.00 or $200. 00 if paid by mail.

Cite this article: - Wisconsin Statutes Insurance (Ch. 600 to 655) § 648.30. Nondisclosure of information - last updated January 01, 2018 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard