Skip to main content

Utah Code Title 80. Utah Juvenile Code § 80-6-501. Definitions

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

As used in this part:

(1) “Minor” means:

(a) an individual:

(i) who is at least 18 years old and younger than 25 years old;  and

(ii) whose case is under the continuing jurisdiction of the juvenile court;  or

(b) an individual:

(i) who is younger than 21 years old;

(ii) who is charged with, or convicted of, an offense under Section 80-6-502 or 80-6-503;  and

(iii) whose case is under the jurisdiction of the district court.

(2) “Qualifying offense” means an offense described in Subsection 80-6-503(1) or (2)(b).

(3) “Separate offense” means any offense that is not a qualifying offense.

Cite this article: - Utah Code Title 80. Utah Juvenile Code § 80-6-501. Definitions - last updated May 05, 2022 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard