Utah Code Title 76. Utah Criminal Code § 76-3-209. Limitation on sentencing for juveniles

Notwithstanding any provision of law, a person may not be sentenced to life without parole if convicted of a crime punishable by life without parole if, at the time of the commission of the crime, the person was younger than 18 years of age.  The maximum punishment that may be imposed on a person described in this section is an indeterminate prison term of not less than 25 years and that may be for life.  This section shall only apply prospectively to individuals sentenced on or after May 10, 2016.


FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.