Skip to main content

Utah Code Title 53. Public Safety Code § 53-5-704.5. Provisional permit to carry concealed firearm

Welcome to FindLaw's Cases & Codes, a free source of state and federal court opinions, state laws, and the United States Code. For more information about the legal concepts addressed by these cases and statutes, visit FindLaw's Learn About the Law.

(1)(a) The bureau shall issue a provisional permit to carry a concealed firearm for lawful self-defense to an applicant who is 18 years of age, but is no older than 20 years of age, within 60 days after receiving an application, unless the bureau finds proof that the applicant does not meet the qualifications set forth in Subsection 53-5-704(2).

(b) The provisional permit is valid throughout the state until the applicant reaches the age of 21, without restriction, except as otherwise provided by Section 53-5-710.

(2) The bureau may deny, suspend, or revoke a provisional permit issued under this section as set forth in Subsections 53-5-704(2) and (3).

(3)(a) In addition to meeting the other qualifications for the issuance of a provisional permit under this section, a nonresident applicant who resides in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah provisional permit or has reciprocity with Utah's provisional permit law shall:

(i) hold a current applicable concealed firearm or concealed weapon permit issued by the appropriate permitting authority of the nonresident applicant's state of residency;  and

(ii) submit a photocopy or electronic copy of the nonresident applicant's current concealed firearm or concealed weapon permit referred to in Subsection (3)(a)(i).

(b) A nonresident applicant who knowingly and willfully provides false information to the bureau under Subsection (3)(a) is prohibited from holding a Utah concealed firearm permit of any kind for a period of 10 years.

(4) The bureau shall also require the applicant to provide:

(a) the address of the applicant's permanent residence;

(b) one recent dated photograph;

(c) one set of fingerprints;  and

(d) evidence of general familiarity with the types of firearms to be concealed as defined in Subsection 53-5-704(8).

(5) In the event of a decision to deny, suspend, or revoke a permit, the applicant or permit holder under this section may appeal the decision through the same process set forth in Subsection 53-5-704(16).

(6) The applicant or permit holder of the provisional permit under this section must meet the eligibility requirements of another state, including age requirements, to carry a concealed firearm in that state.

Cite this article: - Utah Code Title 53. Public Safety Code § 53-5-704.5. Provisional permit to carry concealed firearm - last updated May 05, 2022 |

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Was this helpful?

Thank you. Your response has been sent.

Copied to clipboard