10 U.S.C. § 816 - U.S. Code - Unannotated Title 10. Armed Forces § 816. Art. 16. Courts-martial classified

The three kinds of courts-martial in each of the armed forces are--

(1)  general courts-martial, consisting of--

(A)  a military judge and not less than five members or, in a case in which the accused may be sentenced to a penalty of death, the number of members determined under section 825a of this title (article 25a);  or

(B)  only a military judge, if before the court is assembled the accused, knowing the identity of the military judge and after consultation with defense counsel, requests orally on the record or in writing a court composed only of a military judge and the military judge approves;

(2)  special courts-martial, consisting of--

(A)  not less than three members;  or

(B)  a military judge and not less than three members;  or

(C)  only a military judge, if one has been detailed to the court, and the accused under the same conditions as those prescribed in clause (1)(B) so requests;  and

(3)  summary courts-martial, consisting of one commissioned officer.

FindLaw Codes are provided courtesy of Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the industry-leading online legal research system. For more detailed codes research information, including annotations and citations, please visit Westlaw.

FindLaw Codes may not reflect the most recent version of the law in your jurisdiction. Please verify the status of the code you are researching with the state legislature or via Westlaw before relying on it for your legal needs.

Copied to clipboard